The Truth About Me (as an artist)

Sooooo….when I started this blog, I just wanted to get crafty again, maybe make a few things for my friends, and that would be that.

But, something is happening, every day. I am remembering back in grade school when I used to draw non-stop. I’m remembering in high school when I used to paint, and make linoleum prints (I have the scars to prove that I used to carve those linoleum blocks!) I think back to that self and say, she was an artist. But somewhere along the way I lost that as part of my identity, and slowly, every time I make something, a journal page, a small painting, a piece of jewelery, I hear the whispers that I could be that again. That maybe I was all along. Its becoming bigger than what I originally intended.

But of course, that negative loop of nagging doubts and fears is strong. This page tells a little bit about how I’m feeling about this slow awakening that is occurring. This may or may not be a real conversation. But the sentiment is completely 100% true.

What do you think? What makes an artist? Who gets to wear that title?

To make this page I played with sharpie, water colors, acrylics, paper, modge podge, and a wine cork stamp.

16 comments

  1. we’re all artists…children have no inhibitions about their creations…it’s us adults that grow up to doubt our natural artistic abilities and “worry” about what other may think of our art. It’s time to listen to those whispers! and consider it a journey you deserve.

    1. Tyler, you rock! Thanks for all of your support and artistic inspiration πŸ™‚

  2. I can’t answer your questions but I’m on that journey too. Back to the creative person I used to be πŸ˜‰

    1. We are in this together! Hope the hooky blanket disaster is resolved πŸ˜‰

      1. It is, thank you, just written a post about it πŸ˜€

  3. thebitchybride · · Reply

    Creative labels are really tricky. I agree with Tyler above, that anyone who is open to creativity. who allows themselves to explore, is an artist. But somewhere along the way we seem to have decided only some people get to wear the label. And that means the simple statement “I am an artist” (or “I am a writer” in my case) is scarily loaded. I much prefer the arty people I encounter playing around with crafts and emotions on WordPress to the self-conscious, self-aggrandising people I meet in real life who chink wine-glasses and talk about their gallery experience. Yet they’re the ones who use the word “artist” most confidently.

    1. Natasha, awesome comment, and I agree with you on all counts!

  4. […] a big thank you to all who “liked” and/or commented on my last post about the definition of an artist. That was a scary post and journal page to share for some reason, so your support meant a lot. For […]

  5. Love this post and it was interesting to read the comments. Something to think about. As always tfs.
    Have a wonderful creative weekend.
    Regards Florence x

    1. Thanks Florence! I appreciate you stopping by and commenting. Hope you have a wonderful weekend as well πŸ™‚

  6. I have had these exact same thoughts recently as I’ve come back to creating after years of allowing my creativity to be stifled. I agree with Tyler – I’ve been looking at everything in my house with new eyes… seeing what I can use to apply paint to a canvas. I was outside with my little boy yesterday (he’s two) “painting” our pizza oven with water. He quickly threw aside the brush to use his hands, feet, and whatever else he could find. I found myself wondering where along the way did I lose that natural inclination. Not sure, but I do know it’s slowly coming back to me. =)

    1. Thanks for your comment. It’s nice to know there are others on the same journey with me πŸ™‚ I just followed your blog…hope to spend some time exploring it soon. Thanks again.

  7. such a joy to see meet someone else on a parallel path. (and there is no question, you ARE an artist!) πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks! I love that this post resonated with so many people. Nice to know one is not alone πŸ™‚ I hope to have some time to check out your blog soon. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Danette · · Reply

    We are all artists. We are certainly not all paper and pencil artists (especially me!) but I believe we all have our own “art” of some kind; it could be cooking, dancing, humming… All humans have “art” inside somewhere.

    1. You are so right, Danette! Love your comment. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

Let me know your thoughts...

Travel with Intent

A photographer's view of the world - words and images to inspire your travels and your dreams

Image Earth Travel

Travel and photography blog by Nilla Palmer. Capturing the globe with words and lens. Come travel the world!

Out an' About

Loving Life On and Off the Tracks

Streets of Nuremberg

Street | Urban | Travel | Photography by Marcus Puschmann

Happy days of life

young happy free

Home Chefs

home made food

Wandering Near and Far

See the world with kids one adventure at a time

Rosebudinnh 's Art and crafts space

mix media arts and crafts, paper cafts, cricut,greeting cards,rubber stamping.

Taylor Jorjorian

Photographic Artist

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

Studio B

A girl with mixed media dreams.

Her Waking Sky

Printmaking, photography, textiles

the late sky

Art, fashion, culture

Hidden Chuckles

Take Your Pain And Play With It.

Junquemail Contessa

Mixed Media: Art Journaling , Textiles, Artist Trading Cards and Mail Art

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Esserzoo Living

Thoughts from an ordinary woman!

Exuberandom

Random Stuff of Happiness

Gineceo

Blog de MarΓ­a Tenorio

Eat, Sleep, Television

Watch as I amaze and astound with opinions about what TV shows I like!

The Little Leaf

Painting Drawing Photography

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

BY's Art

Doodling and Drawing Life

fall in love. take photos. repeat.

the chronicles of a girl with a camera

Bebe Butler

Rising in Art, Life, Love, etc

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Gembobs Inspiration

Gemmas Tutorials, Inventions, Ideas, Inspiration and Creations

Clouds of Colour

The creative journey of Bec Brown

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

onacoffeerun

You're not a mess. You've screwed up just enough to make you interesting.

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

The SoulStory Journal

Discover the story your soul wants to tell!

. astrakan project .

music from beyond our world

Ms. Faith's Funhouse

What Happens at the Funhouse... Does NOT Stay at the Funhouse...Sharing is Caring

art discarded

An online gallery of art that has been tossed to the wayside

wordsfromanneli

Thoughts, ideas, photos, and stories.

Mary's Creative Activities

Art, Books, Craft, Crochet, Art Journalling, Jot, Life Project, Cards, Paper Craft, Paper

My Little Artful Playground

where merry-go-round goes round and round and round....

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

The Bearded Iris

A Recalcitrant Wife and Mother Tells All

